Literally “Temple of Kneeling Elephants,” built under King Lý Thái Tông in Thủ Lệ Village (Hà Nội) and dedicated to Prince Linh Lang (also Hoàng Lang or Hoàng Chân).

Voi Phuc Temple in the beginning of the 20th century

Voi Phuc Temple in the beginning of the 20th century

According to legend, when Lý Thái Tông was boating on West Lake, he saw a beautiful peasant girl whom) he ordered to come to his house of pleasure on the lake shore. The girl later gave birth to Linh Lang. The boys body had many auspicious marks. The King recognized his son and gave his mother a place in the harem, building a palace for them in Thủ Lệ (or Trại Chợ).

Voi Phuc Temple, Thu Le, Ha Noi

Voi Phuc Temple, Thu Le, Ha Noi

Linh Lang, leading the elephants, defeated the Song Chinese invaders in battle; according to the annals, he died in the battle on the Cẩu River. The present temple was rebuilt under the Nguyễn dynasty. Two kneeling elephants are at the entrance of the temple. On 21 December 1873, at the start of the French conquest, a French detachment under the command of Balny was defeated at the entrance of the temple.