The pagoda is located in Yen Lang village (also called Lang village), now part of Dong Da district, Hanoi.
The pagoda is located in Yen Lang village (also called Lang village), now part of Dong Da district, Hanoi. It was built during the reign of King Ly Anh Tong (1138 – 1175), devoted to the cult of the Buddhist bonze Tu Dao Hanh and King Ly Than Tong. Its style is “Noi cong ngoai quoc”. It comprises, among other things, a three- entrance gate, an octagonal pavilion (Bat Giac), a 9-compartment central hall, a 9-compartment left hall, a 9-compartment right hall, 18-compartment passage-ways on both sides, an inner chamber where Tu Dao Hanh is worshipped, a 5-compartment chamber for the worship of patriarchs, a 9- compartment rear sanctuary, 10-compartment back hall and a 7-compartment guest house.
A striking feature is that all the main structures have 9 compartments each, and this makes the pagoda more impressive. A number of valuable objects such as stone steles, bells, stone gongs are also found at the pagoda.
It underwent major repairs in 1666 during the period of the Le King- Trinh Lord, and has been repaired on several occasions since the Nguyen dynasty till now.