Quynh Lam Pagoda In Trang An village (Dong Trieu district, ancient Hai Duong, present Quang Ninh). Founded by friar Khong Lo under the Ly dynasty (1010 -1225). In 1317, friar Phap Loa, second Patriarch of the Dhyanist sect (Thien) of Truc Lam came to practise his asceticism. He created the study room of Quynh Lam Vien, home for the training of monks. There was at the time 5000 volumes of Tripitaka (Dai Tang). So, a session for studying Buddha’s teachings could be attended by 600 – 1000 believers. The Tich Quang stone tower (1727) at the pagoda gate is a tribute to friar Chau Nguyen who lived in this monastery at the end of the Le dynasty (XVIIIth century). In the middle of the XlXth century, large repairs made of this temple an imposing pagoda which would later fell into ruins because of fire and war. Only the garden of steles at the entry and stone vestiges are left.